Obedience Unlocks God’s Power

by kingteamdad

Put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” (Ephesians 4:24 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – My dad worked hard all his life. He farmed with his family when he was growing up, went off to war (WWII), and then came home to work for the telephone company for 35 years. We didn’t often have the things everyone else had, but we did have what we needed.

My thoughts go back to one Christmas when I was probably thirteen. I really wanted a go-cart badly. In no uncertain terms I let everyone know that “we” needed a go-cart. Up to that point, my biggest Christmas was a new bike a few years earlier. On Christmas morning I awoke with great confidence that I would soon see my, I mean “our” new go-cart. I had been good the days leading up to Christmas. (My halo could be seen for miles around.)  There was little arguing between Melody and me, and if we did, it was her fault. Cindy was a Junior in high school and driving a car. Nancy was already working and months from moving out on her own. So when I discussed the family needing a go-cart, the “we” was really Melody and me.

Christmas morning I let everyone sleep in, and didn’t wake up the house until 5:12am. Everyone wiped the sleep out of their eyes, put their robes on, and gathered at the door to the family room. When given the ok, I burst through the door looking for my well deserved, and much needed go-cart. Instead I found much needed blue jeans, some new shirts for school, a new game, and a new blue yo-yo. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. I sit in the corner and pouted while everyone else enjoyed Christmas. When finished, mom and dad, decided to “let me clean up” all the remains from our morning festivities. This was adding insult to injury.  First I did not get the much deserved, and much needed go-cart. And now they are making me clean up everyone else’s mess.

I didn’t exactly do it with a happy heart, and my five minute chore took most of the morning. Hours later I finally stopped pouting, and cleaned up. Mom told us to go outside and play and she would call us when lunch was ready.

When Melody and I walked outside, there in our driveway, was a new go-cart! This potato head had wasted most of the morning sulking instead of doing what I was asked to do. Once I finally got around to doing it, I was able to discover my… I mean, our gift.

How many times has God asked me to do something, knowing there was a reward for me at the end? How often have I sat around and sulked, while my “new go-cart” lay undisturbed a few feet away?…waiting!

How can God be so patient with us when we are such self-centered babies?  Just as I overlook my kids shortcomings, because I love them, thankfully God is willing to do the same for us.  In fact, He let His Son climb up on the cross and die for me, and you, knowing all the times we would fail and disappoint Him.

Thank you God for not giving up on me!  Thank You for the power we have through You, if we are just obedient…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do not be conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may discern what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God. (Romans 12:2)