God Says Enjoy Life

” Teach those who are rich in this world not to be proud and not to trust in their money, which is so unreliable. Their trust should be in God, who richly gives us all we need for our enjoyment.” (1 Timothy 6:17)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Shamefully, I must admit that I was one of those who thought becoming a Christian, meant giving up all “fun” and living a life of boredom. Worse yet, I thought the next life would be nothing more than getting my own cloud and harp, and floating around all eternity playing boring elevator music.

The enemy had me fooled thinking that yes, I would eventually want to change, but at an old age, rather then spend an eternity in Hell suffering…of course I do remember thinking there would probably be some really cool, crazy, fun, famous, and beautiful people there…but the whole burning and pain thing seemed to overshadow hanging out with the fun pretty people.

Reluctantly, I knew that I needed to get the “fire insurance”, but I definitely wanted to put off the boredom as long as possible. One Sunday night I headed to church to meet this cute girl a friend wanted me to meet. I was only 28 and had plenty of years left to have fun, before buying the fire insurance.

Thankfully, our loving Heavenly Father had other plans that night. I remember my friend Mike Tiller pointing out the young lady as I sat down; but I never got around to speaking with her that evening. A few minutes into the service, God suddenly shook me awake and pretty much let me know that He was not happy with my status quo, and wanted to change me from the inside out. I fought it thinking He would leave me alone and I could deal with it later. He just smiled from glory and said I don’t think so. He cranked up the “heat”, and finally, after a few verses of “Just As I Am,” I knew I had better get things right because He wasn’t happy with me just as I was.

Satan is an incredible manipulator of the truth, and he customizes his lies to our wants and desires. I am so thankful for a praying family who prayed countless prayers for this potato head. From that night on, I discovered what true happiness and contentment was like.

God placed people in my life that helped me begin to understand how awesome this life can be with His help, and even more importantly how incredibly awesome Heaven will be. God did not place this desire for adventure in this life, only to settle for a life of clouds and harps in the next!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now everyone who competes exercises self-control in everything. However, they do it to receive a crown that will fade away, but we a crown that will never fade away. (1 Corinthians 9:25)

