Quiet Time: Proper Attitudes

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you.” (Psalm 63:1)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – Now that he has a learners license, Evan realizes when it comes to travel, Kris and I have mindsets that are polar opposites.  If we are going to drive somewhere, be it 5 minutes or 5 hours, I am going to get there as quickly as the law allows. Kris on the other hand, might want to turn it into a 2-day “journey”. Notice that I did not say trip. She will tell you its not just the destination, but it is the journey, too.

I think the way she and most women are wired gives them the upper hand when it comes to being spiritual. Us guys are given a job, we plot out the most efficient way to get it done (unless its watching a ball game), check that off our list, and go on to the next chore. Not my wife!  She is going to drink in the moment. Later she can even relive it for me in Technicolor  (If she asks me for a recap of some event I took part in, it’s three bullet points in black and white.)

Now God made us, and wired us to be the way we are. Why, did He program me and my buddies, the way He did?  I’m not sure, but maybe, its so we have to occasionally ask our beautiful co-pilots for directions. Maybe, like the superiority of peanut butter and honey combined, husbands and wives combined make a superior bond. I know that when driving the RV across the country, my stress level was much lower when Kris was up front with me in the “co-pilots”seat. She helps me have the right attitude when on a journey. I am conscious of trying to be more patient and Christlike behind the wheel. Looking out the big windshield, I am more prone to enjoy the view as it slides past us.

I am thinking that is the way God wants me to be when I am hanging out with Him. Not in a hurry. Not quickly checking on my preflight list. Just sitting on the back porch of my life, sipping on a cup of coffee, and telling Him “good job” as I drink in His creation. He might just smile.

Yesterday, Lacy and I ran out for brunch at our favorite biscuit place. Afterwards she informed me she wanted a cup of coffee…from Dunkin Donuts…in Dahlonega…45 minutes away.  Moments later my sister Nancy called and I told her what we were doing.  She said “isn’t there a Dunkin right down the street from you?”  I replied “Yes…but its not about the coffee, its all about the journey”…:)  Lacy just smiled….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7)

