When Tempted…

David prayed, “Keep me from paying attention to what is worthless.” (Psalm 119:3a TEV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – The kitchen cabinets are a bad place to go late at night! I know there are wonderful bags of potato chips there, lonely, waiting for a friend to come by and free them. They never give up secrets. Sometimes in a moment of weakness late at night with just the refrigerator light to show the way, I use all my ninja abilities to stealthily go to the cabinet, quietly open the door, and sneak some salty, crunchy, delectably delicious chips. I go in there with intentions of only having a few. But they taste so good. After all, I’m not hurting anyone but myself with those few greasy temptations.

Unfortunately, once there, having gone through all the hassle, I indulge a little extra. Just a few more. No one is being hurt except me. Half a bag later, I am upset with myself for giving in to my desires. After the fact, I think about all of the fat and calories I just threw into my body. I get mad at myself for not being stronger.

What can I do to minimize my chances of failing? It seems that I am weakest late at night. When no one else is around. When I am hungry. When my mind has time to wonder. Maybe I need to put the “potato chips” in a more public place. Maybe I need to have some sidekicks (in this situation Kris and the kids) who are allowed to keep me accountable.   Maybe I need to fill myself with healthier “stuff”. So when my mind goes to “potato chips”, I redirect to fresh fruit. That way I am not hungry, and less susceptible to those cravings.

We all have our “potato chips” in life. They will always be there. We will be tempted. What we do to minimize temptations opportunities is so critical. Think I will go eat an apple….

IMG_1584

Therefore, submit to God. But resist the Devil, and he will flee from you. Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, sinners, and purify your hearts, double-minded people! (James 4:7-8)

