Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

by kingteamdad

Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion unto the day of Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 1:6 NIV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Of all the people I know, one sticks out above the rest when it comes to not sweating over the little things. Dr. Jim would meet with me on Monday mornings. Usually just before 0’dark:30. Yes, several times we were at the door waiting for the breakfast place to open.

While my face was still frozen with a sleepy frown and pillow marks, Dr. Jim would come in smiling with the excitement and energy of Tigger (I guess I sometimes I resembled Eeyore). I would often show up with the “problem de jour”. Something that was going on with work, marriage, church, or politics, would often be on my mind. I can remember being concerned leading up to an election, showing up only to find Dr. Jim smiling about it. We voted the same way. How could he be so calm?!?

Dr. Jim knew Who was in control. He would always let me talk and then eventually bring me to scripture. Usually it would help, and I would walk away looking a little less like Eeyore, and a little more like Pooh.  After looking at scripture with Dr. Jim, the big problems I walked in with, were a lot smaller when I walked out.

Scripture is able to do that. How?  That’s because prior to looking at scripture, my myopic vision could not see out ahead of me. I could only focus on the “here and now”, and not look down the spiritual road to the “there and then”.

Paul was able to do that. In fact, he carried it one step further. He wrote to the people in Phillipians 2:14-16, “Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky, as you hold firmly to the word of life.”  (Let’s not forget he wrote this from a damp, dark, miserable jail cell.)

Sounds to me, even when we do have bad things happening, to go about our day without grumbling or arguing. What would we who are followers of Jesus look like if we did that? Paul said we would shine like the stars in the sky. Think your neighbors and co-workers would notice?  Think they would want to know what put that smile on your face? It is such a stark reality to the norm.

We are serving the God of the Universe! If He is as big as the Bible says He is, and loves us as much as it says He does, shame on me for worrying about the little things!….

IMG_3334

I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1:6)

