A Love Deep Enough

by kingteamdad

He is your refuge, and His everlasting arms are under you.” (Deuteronomy 33:27 NLT)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – One of my best friends, John Tatum, took me to look at some property he was considering buying.  It was near one of my favorite towns, Chattanooga. We walked some of the property and I fell in love with it. A year later he had bought it to develop Cloudland Station, and soon after, Kris and I had purchased a lot.

Our lot backs up to a waterfall.  John told me if I’d follow the water up the mountain, I would find a cave. With a flashlight I looked in and saw that it was only about 40 feet deep. It appeared to be a Talus cave. Talus caves are also called boulder caves. They are basically open spaces under large boulder piles.

But, I noticed the water came out of it, so unless it was like Moses’ rock, it had to have a passage. Upon closer inspection if you shielded your eyes from the outside light and looked hard to the right, you saw darkness…and an opening. I learned later that it was a limestone cave.

Since then we have taken the kids into that cave numerous times. The first couple of times we went in, we had a local who was a professional spelunker take us. He showed up with helmets and lights. He explained some history of the cave and its characteristics. He said that it was believed to be used by the Confederacy in the Civil War to hide soldiers and munitions. Now its only inhabitants appear to be a colony of bats and cave crickets.

There are parts of the cave where you have to wade through the water. Sometimes its just over your shoes, but several places it gets up above your knees, almost to your waist. Year round that water is around 65 degrees. (I discovered my feet really don’t like to be in water that cold, for more than an hour.)

I have never made it to the end of the cave. They tell me it goes back far enough, that you have to spend the night and make it a two day adventure. Thats what they tell me. I personally don’t know because I’ve never made it to the end. The kids and I can tell you that an hour back into the cave is deep. If you turn your lights off, you can not see your hand in front of your face. The darkness is BLACK.

I wonder, is God’s love similar? Have I only experienced the first “few yards” of His love? As an unbeliever did I think His love was like a Talus “cave”, only a few feet deep? After all, when I first looked in our cave I though it was only 4o feet deep. Only after taking a step in, and taking a closer look, did I discover it was much deeper. Even now I haven’t experienced the full depth of that cave.

My comprehension of the depth of God’s love is even worse. How can I understand how much He loves me? He sat there and let His Son die a horrendous slow torturous death for my sins. Because He set the level of punishment for sin.

He looked at me and said “Guilty! The sentence is death!”…and then told Jesus to take my place….

IMG_2949

He reached down from heaven and took hold of me; He pulled me out of deep waters.  (Psalms 18:16)

