All That Is Not Eternal Is Eternally Useless

C. S. Lewis observed, “All that is not eternal is eternally useless.”

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I won my 5th grade spelling bee. I made all-stars in baseball when I was 12. I was voted most likely to make you laugh in my senior class. I made Who’s Who in college. I was among the worst when it comes to comparing myself to those around me. “Am I faster, smarter, funnier, or better”?

The first 20 years of my career I saved all my sales awards I had a “wall of fame” in our house…a little shrine to myself. I liked to wear my watches I won, or look at the “trophies” I won, as I sat in my office and patted myself on the back.

God was not impressed. To Him it was the equivalent of catching the big fish, reeling it up to the boat, and then handing me the rod so I could “catch” the fish. All I really did was use the talents He had given me, with the body He had wired and accessorized, and then pounded my chest and said look at me.

Somewhere around 15 years ago I had an epiphany. I realized that I was very good at taking the credit God deserved. Hanging around Dr. Jim, a very talented surgeon, taught me that. Here was a man who sought constant perfection in his work. But surprisingly, it was to honor God with the best he could offer. Dr. Jim over the years had met with many men. I heard stories of smart men, suffering terrible financial pitfalls, that often were no fault of their own. Some stayed true to their faith. Unfortunately, many others turned their back on God. I went home one day after meeting with him, took the “wall of fame” down and replaced it with a couple of framed pieces, some of inspirational pictures, others with scripture.

During our time of meeting together, I faced several storms. Dr. Jim reminded me that it wasn’t whether or not I went through storms, but how I acted when I was in them. Even today that often is a hard pill for me to swallow. My natural tendency is to compare myself, to consider my “wall of fame”, my bank account, my scorecard in life. When things went wrong, when a deal got sideways, or an investment didn’t pan out, I would still want to compare myself, or grade myself against my peers. The only way I can avoid that, is to daily get into the Word, and remind myself who really caught the fish!

If I ever get a tattoo, I think it will be a fish on a hook….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. (2 Cortinthians 4:17-18)