The Fruit of Our Walk..

by kingteamdad

IMG_0724

RAMBLINGS from Evan King’s dad – Yesterday I was talking with Evan about reading in Galatians and some of the things Paul said. I was reminded how quickly we can get caught up in ourselves, not considering those around us.

Later in the day I went for a run in our new neighborhood. On the way back I saw our 81 year old neighbor.  Paul’s words I had read earlier convicted me to take a few minutes out of my busy schedule to speak with her, so I stopped for quick visit. My plan was to be running again in 73 seconds.

Her eyes lightened up to see a visitor calling out her name. My intentions were to make her feel good, to feel loved and not forgotten, and get the heck out of Dodge.

The funny thing is that as we talked, she made me feel loved. I was stunned that she already remembered our names, and was asking me how Kris and the kids were doing. She went on to tell me how wonderful my family was. The minutes passed. More minutes passed as we continued to visit. She was a pleasure to speak with and time seemed to slow. Finally she said she probably needed to go back inside, thanked me for stopping by, and waved goodbye.

As I started back up running, I realized her sweet spirit had blessed me. I had stopped to be a blessing, but as is often the case, ended up being the one blessed….

========================================
But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.
If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit. Let us not become boastful, challenging one another, envying one another.  Galatians 5:22-26

