Patience and Love in a Darkening World

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Christians worldwide seem to be under attack from all sides these days. If not from the liberal left with barbed verbal attacks and hate filled speech, then from extremist that desire physical harm and death to us.

It is so hard sometime not to lash back out at those who attack us with their words. Don’t get me wrong, we need to be able to defend our beliefs. But we need to do so with respect for the other person. We need to talk and reasonwith them like Jesus did with the woman at the well, with compassion. Over the years this thick headed boy from Lithonia has argued vehemently points to prove my perceived knowledge of the Bible. In those fights, I might have won on points, but lost on the results. The person might have seen that I thought I knew something, but didn’t see that I cared two cents about them.

I am sure I still screw up a lot. I probably run my mouth at times more then I need to. I try to remind myself what Dr. Jim always told me, “There is a reason God gave us TWO ears, and only ONE mouth!” That’s right those ears aren’t just to hold up your sunglasses, they are there for listening.

Last night Connor came in and was sharing with us his day at work. His summer job is as a CNA at an assisted living facility. He is learning that as we get older, we can get cranky, set in our ways, and have very strong opinions…that often are wrong. What he does over and over with these residents is hear them out, reason with them in a way they most likely will understand, ALWAYS with COMPASSION, sometimes firmly, but ALWAYS with LOVE.

He was laughing about a cantankerous resident that the other CNS’s fear. One of them was shocked when he walked in to the room and got a smile out of said resident. They were surprised…I’m not.

There are a LOT of cantankerous people out there. Some of them are friends of mine. I hope today if we interact, that if they don’t see Jesus in me, at least they’ll see Connor….

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. – Psalm 46:10-11

