Don’t Let Limitations Limit Vision

by kingteamdad

“God will not only use your gifts to fulfill your destiny, He’ll also use your limitations.” Rick Warren

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – I have talked to Evan once or twice about some of my more memorable jobs. There was my first one when I was around 12. My dad helped me set up a card table out in the front yard under our chestnut tree. I sat under it and sold tomatoes all summer to people driving on our country road.

One of my more enjoyable ones involved being a man hole watcher in Atlanta for the telephone company.  All summer I sat by these man holes to make sure some absent minded pedestrian didn’t walk in to one. I met a lot of interesting people in downtown Atlanta that summer!

After high school I started working for the telephone company while I went to school at night. I worked on an assembly line repairing 300 phone’s ringers a day. It was boring, loud and monotonous work. But it paid me decent money at the time. I would get caught up, and break up the boredom by walking around and talking to some of my coworkers on the assembly line. I would return to a pile of phones, that I would work on until they were all headed down the line to the next person.

Work ended at 4:00 and I would drive back into Atlanta to Georgia State. My evening classes for journalism went till 10:00 at night. I couldn’t decide which was worse, the boring assembly line, or the classes till 10 at night.

It was during one of my boring work days, that I got called into Gene Hooper’s office, he was my supervisor at the time. Gene was writing me up, again, for talking to and distracting my co-workers. As I got up to leave his cubicle, he said something that would change the course of my life. Gene shook his head and said “Ted you like to talk so much, why don’t you go into sales?”

I had an epiphany with that comment. His nonchalant comment played over and over in my mind as I returned to my place on the assembly line. The next quarter I changed my major from journalism to business. Three years later I graduated with a BBA in Marketing. Two months later I had my first full time sales job. That was 31 years ago.

Gene Hooper had no idea the impact his words would have on me. Fortunately, I feel they pointed down a path that has proven to be a good one.

I wonder how often I have flippantly said something to someone and walked away not knowing how it impacted them negatively or positively. Words can cut like a dagger. Words can encourage. Words can tear down. Words can hurt. Words can heal.

Today I hope that my words will bring sunshine to someone’s day. Today I hope that my words will in some way remind someone how much God loves them. Today I hope the people I am around will think about Jesus and His saving grace, because of the words I speak, or, chose NOT to speak….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The king loved Esther more than all the women, and she won grace and favor in his sight more than all the virgins, so that he set the royal crown on her head and made her queen instead of Vashti. (Esther 2:17) 

