God Answers Our Prayers For His Glory

by kingteamdad

“I thank my God for all of you because your faith is being reported all over the world. I remember you in my prayers at all times; and I pray now that at last by God’s will the way may be opened for me to come to you I’m so eager to preach the gospel also to you who are in Rome.” (Romans 1:8-15 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – We have always prayed that the kids would be close to each other. We’ve prayed that they would be best friends, seeing that they would likely know each other longer then anyone else they will know during their lives.

When we moved to Cumming, we moved from an active neighborhood with kids, to some property with trees.  The kids were forced to hang out with each other if they wanted a playmate.  They each gravitated to their own interest, but their orbits inevitably brought them back together.

They had their moments where they needed to go to their neutral corners. They had their moments where in arguments someone got hurt, typically their feelings, but sometimes from a pinch or a punch. Yes, there were times where they were around each other too much.

But Kris and I did our best to monitor things, coach things, steer things, in such a way that we were working toward our ultimate goal of them being close. We did have our moments when we doubted. We had those moments where they did NOT like each other.

Most mornings when I got up I prayed for my family. I prayed that God would mold them into the Christians He wanted them to be. That He would use the rest of us to help soften the hard edges and round each one off to be the well rounded adult He wanted them to be.  And I prayed that He would clothe us in His armor.

He has given each of them so many talents. He has also given each of them at least one “thorn” in their side. Some flaw or weakness that keeps them from getting too cocky, and leaning on Him. They are so different, and, they are so similar.

All these years later I look at them interact and realize this journey has molded them into not just siblings, but friends. All these arguments and fights later, down this long and sometimes bumpy road we’ve traveled called life, I realize that God in His infinite mercy, has answered our prayers!….

IMG_0151

First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed in all the world. For God is my witness, whom I serve with my spirit in the gospel of His Son, that without ceasing I mention you always in my prayers, asking that somehow by God’s will I may now at last succeed in coming to you. For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you—that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine.  (Romans 1:8-12)

