Wait on God’s Glory

by kingteamdad

Although Jesus loved Martha, Mary, and Lazarus, He stayed where He was for the next two days and did not go see them.” (John 11:5-6 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – When the kids were little, we went and bought some fireworks for a July 4th celebration. When we arrived home, Connor was ecstatic as he explained to Kris the bounty of gunpowder we had purchased.

A few hours later around 2:00 pm, Connor announced it was time to shoot off the fireworks. I told him it wasn’t time yet, that we needed for it to get dark. He looked at me bewildered as if to say, “Father you are crazy. Now is a fine time to shoot off those lovely fireworks…” I explained to him that we would miss out on 90% of what they offered by shooting them in the daylight. He became very disappointed. So to prove my point I let them go out in the backyard to shoot off one rocket.

That was actually a mistake. In their virgin eyes, that firework was fantastic. They could see the little stream of smoke as it shot into the air, they could see a small flash, and they heard the bang. He looked at me with this “Dad?!? What more could you ask for?!?” look. So after much begging, I let them shoot off a few more. They were happy, happy, happy.

When we finished, they went about their day playing out by the 3 Trees with their friends. They soon forgot the fireworks and became engrossed in playing in the dirt.

That evening we invited some friends over for hotdogs and homemade ice cream. The kids had fun playing in the backyard. As the evening grew dark, I and the other dads brought out the fireworks.

I wish I had taken a picture of Connor’s face as the first firework exploded in the blackness of the night! It was magnificent. The kids quickly came and sit by the moms as the fireworks lit up the night sky. The vivid colors bathed our backyard and the kids faces as they watched with eyes wide open. The patriotic music seemed to come to life as the fireworks continued.

When it was finally over Connor came over and asked me why we didn’t shoot some of THOSE pretty fireworks off earlier that day. When I told him we did, he looked at me bewildered again with that “Father, you know not what you are talking about…” look.  I tried to explain to him the need of the darkness to see the light, but at that young age, it was better saved for another day.

I wonder how often I have been impatient with God and asked for the “fireworks” right then? I wonder how often I rushed the fireworks and was disappointed with the results? I wonder how often God sit there amused at my impatience knowing the best timing?

Now that I think about it, I wonder how often with my impatience I missed the chance to be a light in the darkness?…..

1376628_10151945528354082_1282923719_n

When He had said these things, He cried out with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out.” The man who had died came out, his hands and feet bound with linen strips, and his face wrapped with a cloth. Jesus said to them, “Unbind him, and let him go.”  (John 11: 43-44)

 

