A Time for Meditation

by kingteamdad

How long O Lord must I cry out for help but You don’t listen?” (Habakkuk 1:2 NLT)

I’ll climb my watchtower now and wait to see what answer God will give me about my complaint.” (Habakkuk 2:1 NLT)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

RAMBLINGS from Kris’ husband – When we moved in to our present home, we often left the window in our bedroom cracked at night. We loved to hear the water running down the rocks. It was soothing and relaxing, quickly lulling us to sleep.

A couple of years later, our yellow lab started waking us in the middle of the night barking.  Apparently, the coyotes and foxes moved into the area and she did not like them on her turf. Soon we found it easier to sleep with the window closed.

One night the barking outside our window was loud enough to wake me up out of a deep sleep. I had a hard time going back to sleep tossing and tumbling the remainder of the night.  We soon had an air purifier that made a nice humming noise, that we used for white noise.

No more barking waking me in the middle of the night. Actually, no more waking me up with almost anything noisy other than a pretty boisterous thunderstorm.  My sleep no longer was disturbed. The coyote or fox was no longer an issue for me.

Until two weeks ago. It appears that while we slept peacefully with our white noise, a commotion took place outside. When I awoke the next morning two of Kris’ hens were missing. The remaining three were traumatized, finding one perched in the second floor window of our house.

Our lives today have a lot of “noise” in them. Phones ringing and beeping, computers alerting us to more apparently urgent emails, and BREAKING NEWS on our favorite news station, keep us hopping.  And some of us, now even need it to go to sleep.

Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still, and know that I am GOD...”  When Habakkuk complained to God about tolerating the wicked, he also asked how long God would let it go on. Whats interesting is when he finished, it says he then climbed his watchtower and waited to hear from God. Now that is a novel idea.

We have no problem murmuring or complaining. But we seldom sit around and wait for an answer because we are too busy. We have too many distractions and noises.

The problem is that when we have too much noise in our life, we easily miss the warnings of danger God might be whispering to us. It might be just outside our window or door and us be clueless, all the time He is whispering warnings to us.

I wonder how often we’ve had a “fox or coyote” creep into our lives and cause pain or loss? How often thats happened and then later we scream at God and say “WHY?” When all along, just like our yellow lab, He was trying to warn us, and we couldn’t hear Him for all the noise?…..

And the Lord answered me…( Habakkuk 2:1)

