Waiting is a Time for Preparation

by kingteamdad

Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…it’s learning to dance in the rain!

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s Dad – Years ago when Connor was little, we planted some watermelon seeds out by our back door. He was very excited because, like his mom, he loved watermelon. The next day he got up with great excitement. He could already taste the watermelon he would soon be picking.  As much as I tried to tell him there would be no watermelon, he would not take me seriously. Out the door he went. Disappointment washed over his face as he looked down at the plant-less dirt.

Years later, Connor might be found outside with his mom messing with her blueberry plants, or her cucumbers and squash and tomatoes. He knows that the seeds go in the ground. He knows we have to keep them watered. He knows it takes a while to see growth. And he knows it takes even longer to see fruit.

I find sometimes I start to act like young Connor. My patience is often probably better described as impatience.  God I am good with that…as long as we can do it NOW.

I look at things that have happened in my life.  “Storms” that have come. “Crops” that have come in.  Those things I saw as storms at the time they came, were in reality rain that my crop needed to grow…nourishment that I hadn’t noticed was needed to help the roots grow stronger. If those early crops had come in faster, I would have been too busy to take care of the harvest. Much of it at an earlier time would have withered on the vine. At a later time it might have been too much for me to handle.

As I get older in life, and hopefully a little wiser, I see over and over again things seldom work out in my timing. It happens too late or it happens too early. I do see that time and time again, they seem to work out perfectly with God’s timing. Even down to those little storms in our lives, when at the time it rains, seems like more of a nuisance then a help. But then the clouds disappear and the sun begins to shine through. Not long after, we see the pretty blooms appear.

IMG_3246

Be patient, therefore, brothers, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient about it, until it receives the early and the late rains. You also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand. (James 5: 7-8)

