God’s Provision: Trust God

by kingteamdad

God “provides food for those who fear Him; He remembers His covenant forever.” (Psalm 111:5 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When our kids were small, we moved into a very nice neighborhood. We were one of the few families that weren’t members at the prestigious country club down the street. We made some great friends while living there that we still keep up with 12 years later.

One of those families had kids that were our kids best friends. Back then our kids ages ran from 3 year old Evan to 7 year old Connor. Across the street from us was an empty lot with three ugly little pine trees on it. The kids quickly made that their base of operations and called it “The 3 trees”. Connor’s best buddy was Chase, Lacy’s was Regan, and Evan rounded out the fearless five-some. They all wore their little rubber boots…in the middle of the summer, with their shorts and t-shirts. By dinner time they were all covered in dirt, tuckered out, but euphoric from another day of bonding at the “3 Trees”.

Chase’s parents were good friends of ours. We cooked out together and were at each other’s birthday parties. Chase’s dad and I were even in a neighborhood Bible study together. We encouraged each other and shared our thoughts, concerns, and discoveries with business, marriage, kids, and church.

It was during that time in a men’s small group covering the topic of “fathering” that I heard a dad talk about praying with each of his kids every night. This made an impact on me. I was already familiar with the idea of taking the kids individually on “daddy dates”, but it was during this study that I learned to do it each month around the day they were born. That added nugget helped me be much more consistent.

We built in the neighborhood simply as an investment. It was a beautiful neighborhood. We knew the resell would be profitable for us. It was however, also an expensive neighborhood, in the most expensive county in metro Atlanta. It was stressful while we lived there stretching us more then I wanted. I found myself time and time again anxious.

When our accountant gave us the green light we quickly put the house up for sell. It was about that time Chase’s dad told me they were thinking about selling for the same reason. They too realized it was a VERY expensive place to live.

We had a contract several months later and found ourselves moving out to the country 20 miles away.  People drove slower and talked slower around our new home. We loved it. It was less expensive, and I was less stressed and anxious.

Several times Chase and some of his siblings came up to play with our kids. They got along well with each other. But life happens. Schedules get crazier as kids get older. And before you know it, it’s been 5 years since you have seen someone.

The other day I posted some comments regarding a Rick Warren Daily Devotional. Later that day I had a comment from Chase. He brought up that time when we were neighbors, and his vivid memories of them selling their house. He asked if that big house was a necessity, or just a want.

I told him I didn’t know the answer to that question. Only God knows. Hopefully, we believers seek His will on things we do in our lives, including homes we buy.

Personally, I do think we have seasons in our lives for different reasons and experiences. I will say this about the season that we were neighbors. It was Chase’s dad who bugged me into going to that small group on Fathering. It was at that small group that I was encouraged to pray for my kids individually every night. It was at that small group his dad bugged me to attend, that I got into the habit of taking each of my kids out on a daddy date once a month around the day they were born. It was because of his dad bugging me, that for the past 12 years my kids have gone to sleep after hearing their dad pray for them. I have spent many an evening or afternoon with each of them. We go to movies, go out for breakfast or dinner, take drives in the car to the store and come home 5 hours later. Hopefully, we are making memories.

For that I am so thankful that there was a season when Chase’s family lived in that house, down the street from us….

 IMG_0711

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.  (Matthew 6:31-33)

