God’s Provision: Maintain Integrity

by kingteamdad

Proverbs 16:11 (NLT) says, “The Lord demands fairness in every business deal.

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – During Lacy’s young life, I have dealt with a lot of people in business. One that comes to mind is the builder of our previous home.

I knew Randal because he was in our Sunday School class. When Kris and I decided to build, we of course talked to him. Of all the builders we talked to, we were the most comfortable with Randal. So we signed the “cost plus” contract with him, meaning his fee would be a set percentage of whatever our house cost. We realized we would soon see who Randal REALLY was.

As we broke ground for construction I wondered if things would become awkward. We saw him and his wife every Sunday, and his two girls were in Connor and Lacy’s classes. They would ride over with their dad to our lot sometime and play with our kids.

Decisions were made on a daily basis. It might be something mundane regarding the roofing, or the brick, or the lighting. Once or twice I overheard that there would be large rebates for items bought. Another time the supplier told me as I looked at samples that the one I picked would lead to a nice rebate check. He explained the rebate should go to me, but that many builders just quietly keep it for themselves. I filed that away wondering how Randal would handle it.

As I started writing draw checks each week for work done, my curiosity grew. Several months into it, I still had heard nothing from him about any rebates. My confidence in Randal waned and I shared my concern with Kris.

Four months into construction, Randal called me, as he often did and asked me if I could meet him at the house to go over things. He discussed the type of windows and doors, and the copper top things that would go on our fence. As I started to leave, Randal yelled for me to stop. He walked over to the car and handed me a rebate check from one of the suppliers for $2500. I looked up with a smile and asked him what it was for? He told me it was a rebate check for material I had picked out for our deck, and he had been waiting on it for several months.

I can’t even began to tell you the relief I had, the anxiety that left me, or the renewed confidence I had in Randal. From that day forward I knew (as I should have known the whole time) that Randal was a man of integrity. That his relationship with God was not just window dressing.

I hope and pray that when people watch me, they will see the same thing….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A just balance and scales are the Lord’s; all the weights in the bag are His work. (Proverbs 16:11)

