God’s Provision: Faithful Giving

by kingteamdad

Honor the Lord with your wealth and with the best part of everything you produce.” (Proverbs 3:9 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – I told Connor about a funeral I attended recently of a friends father. I never had the opportunity to meet him. I saw a recent picture of him as I walked into the church. The black shiny casket held all that was left of his earth suit.

I sat down toward the back and listened with interest as several of his grown grandkids got up and talked about fond memories they had of their grandfather. You saw in them a deep love for a man who in their eyes always had time for them, showing them love and compassion.

Then my friend stood up and talked about this man who was his father-in-law. He talked about his compassion for children many years ago when still in Syria. He talked about how this man found out a small town near by had no school for its kids. So he went down there and set up a school. Even going the extra step and getting people and businesses to donate food so the kids would get a hot meal every day.

Later he found that this town had orphans. Once again he talked with people, raising money to build a building. He built the first floor to be used for retail space. With those renters he financed the second floor for an orphanage. To this day it is still self-sustaining.

As I listened to the descriptions of the man, I pictured a man that put others ahead of himself. A man who gave not just his money, but also his time. It reminded me of some of the traits God has wired into our first born.

I can only hope that when I die and my earth suit is placed in a casket, that similar things are said of me. I pray that people will be able to see that I loved my Savior.  I pray that they will see that I was giving with my money and my time. I pray that they will say they saw someone doing their best at imitating Jesus. I pray that I will leave a legacy.

Kind of like what I heard yesterday….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honor the Lord with your wealth and with the first fruits of all your produce; (Proverbs 3:9)

