Content With God’s Provision

by kingteamdad

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 1 Timothy 6:6-7 (NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – I took Evan shooting last night. He had a good time shooting skeet with one of his buddies from church who is VERY good. Evan is in his first year and doing well. But Mitchell, I think, was born with a shotgun in his hand and he is really talented.

Since Evan is a beginner, I bought him an “affordable” Mossberg over/under. This being Mitchell’s umpteenth year, he has a very nice Beretta Silver Pigeon. (Last night Mitchell hit 40 “birds” straight, before missing his first one.)

After each boy shot, they would bump fists with each other. I appreciate their camaraderie and sportsmanship, even while competing. I also appreciate Evan using an inexpensive gun without any complaining, while those around him shoot much nicer guns.

As I watch Evan in his first year on the team, I am taking in his needs, his wants and desires, and his attitude. Motivations and even expectations at this point might change for the wrong reason if he were shooting a nicer gun. What impresses me is his apparent contentment. Sure he admires the more expensive guns, but I appreciate the way he takes care of his inexpensive “sporting goods store” shotgun.

I guess God is the same way with us. He knows our desires, and He knows our true needs. He knows our heart, our motivations, the very things that drive us to the things we do. He already knows how His blessings will affect us, and He also knows what withholding some blessings will do.

I am glad He knows. I am glad He loves us. I am glad He can see when He needs to answer our prayers, and as important, HOW He needs to answer our prayers.

Through it all, I pray that I will be like Evan, and be content wherever and however I find myself. Not finding my value in what I have, but in who I serve…

IMG_1997

But godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content.  (1 Timothy 6: 6-8)

