Love is Always a Response to Love

by kingteamdad

“We love because He first loved us.” (1 John 4:19 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Years ago before kids, a friend was telling me how much he loved his kids. In some ways he said he loved them more then his wife. I, being a newlywed, could not comprehend loving someone else as much as I loved Kris.

A year later Connor was born. I remember the first time I held him. He was wrapped up in a blanket like a burrito and all I could see was his little face. My heart filled with this indescribable love for him.

Hours later I was holding this perfect little boy in Kris’ room, minutes after changing his first diaper. For those who have never had the honor of changing that first diaper, its one part poop, one part tar, and one part space alien!  The moment that I looked back into that angelic face, I decided it was worth it. And sometime that weekend, I realized what my buddy meant by his comments.

I can’t say that I love the kids more then Kris. After all, she is literally my best friend, my lover, my confidant, and my life partner. However, just as I would take a bullet for her, I would, without hesitation, take one for any of our kids. They are a piece of my heart walking around outside my body.

This week they were all at a church camp. Every morning I woke up thinking about them. Praying for them. Hoping they were having a good time. Last night they returned on the buses. As each kid saw me, they came to me and gave me a big hug!

Do I love them more then Kris? No. Do I love them as much as Kris? Yes.

So does God really love us that much? Does He get as much pleasure when we come looking for Him, as I did last night when the kids came to me?  Whether it’s good or bad, happy or sad, is He just waiting for us to come to Him? Could He really love us THAT much?…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We love because He first loved us. If anyone says “I love God”, and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from Him: whoever loves God must also love his brother. (1 John 4:19-21)

