What To Expect From God

by kingteamdad

My God shall supply all of your needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – As I sit here, I realize how clueless I am when it comes to commenting on what to expect from God. I am a finite being, with limited abilities and intellect, trying to ponder and pontificate on a God who I am told in the Bible is limitless in abilities, intellect, power, and even His presence.

How can someone who does good to make it through Atlanta traffic in time for a meeting, consider even in a very small way, God, the creator, the master craftsman, not of my home or my neighborhood, but the entire universe and everyone and thing in it?!?

All I know is that “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to Him belong, they are weak but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me.”

And God, His Father, created us, knowing how fallible we would be. Knowing how selfish and problematic we would be. What is even more mind boggling to me is He knew how badly we would screw things up. He, being a just and perfect God, also knew that within days of creating the first of us, that we would stop being perfect and cut off our chances of spending eternity with Him.

That same loving Creator did this knowing the only way we would be able to maintain a relationship with Him, would be through His Son. Not just nonchalantly, but by literally having to let His Son be tortured and then murdered, in our place! Say what???

As I sit here, I am beginning to think He thought this thing through a lot more then any of us. Not only did He think it through, but the Bible (the most credible piece of writing from ancient literature with 1000’s of copies preserved from Jesus’ days)  tells us He is the Alpha and Omega. He has no time constraints so He saw before Adam and Eve what it would cost Him, like any good builder would do, and yet He was still willing to go forward with the project. Wow!

I sit here and reluctantly admit-He can probably handle any of my goof ups and any of my needs, this day, too….

photo

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)

 
