Jesus Gives Honest Counsel

by kingteamdad

Speak the truth in love.“(Ephesians 4:15)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Kris has the gift of meeting with women and counseling them on issues they might be having in their marriage and lives. She loves on them. She encourages them. She counsels them. And then she loves on them some more.

Lacy seems to be blessed with the same gift. I was sitting at the table yesterday having lunch with the family when I heard her give some very good advice to one of her brothers. She did it in a very loving way, sandwiching her advice/correction between love and praise. I know who she learned that from, because her teacher has been very effective with me using that approach.:)

Recently, a friend got upset with Lacy for confronting her on some bad decisions. She went into all kinds of reasons why Lacy should have left well enough alone. After coming at her, she paused for Lacy’s apologies. To hear Lacy tell it, she only apologized for the way things turned out. She told her friend that she loved her, but based on her Biblical convictions, she would do the same thing again.

I want friends like that. Friends who will love me in spite of all my faults. Friends who when they see me doing something wrong, will confront me in a loving way. Friends who won’t stand by and let me make big mistakes that will mess my life, and other lives up. I hope that I can be that kind of friend, too.

Now that I think about it, isn’t that what God wants to do with us? He let His Son die for us while we were still sinners. He has His Holy Spirit convict us when we are heading in the wrong direction.  He loves us right where we are, but, He also loves us too much to leave us there…..

 34879_445281949187_2621756_n

Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into Him who is the head, into Christ,  (Ephesians 4:15)

