Jesus Encouraged People

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – By nature I am not encouraging. Kris might even tell you that at times my love language is words of “discouragement”. I have to fight it. I have to be keenly aware of it.

This morning I woke the boys up as they enjoyed their first Monday of summer. Connor is starting a class today for CNA certification. We talked to him and all agree we think it’s a good first step, if he wants to be a doctor, for him to learn medicine from the ground up.

He wasn’t exactly excited to be getting up after just finishing his freshman year of college, only to start class again. I asked him if I could bring him a cup of coffee and his reply was an instant yes!

A few minutes later I came back up the steps with a fresh cup of coffee made the way he likes it. He smiled as I handed it to him. I told him I loved him and that I hoped he had a great first day.

Walking back down the steps I realized that left to my own devices I would have yelled up the steps to him to get his fanny up and get ready for class. Thankfully, I took a page from the Kris King book of encouragement and didn’t!

I bet in His day Jesus would have greeted His disciples in the morning with a fresh pot of coffee…after He finished having some quiet time with His Dad!….

IMG_3700

We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves.  Let each of us please his neighbor for his good, to build him up.  For Christ did not please Himself, but as it is written, “The reproaches of those who reproached you fell on me. (Romans 15:1-4)   

