Come To Jesus As You Are

by kingteamdad

God showed His great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.” (Romans 5:8 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Having three kids of my own, I have a very small understanding of unconditional love. I look back at all the stinky diapers that I had no trouble changing because of the love I had for the one who dirtied the diaper.

I have cleaned up many messes caused by an upset toddler who no longer wanted to eat the green peas we were feeding her.

Kris summoned me in to the living room recently to see our leaded glass front door with a hole in the lower left corner. The aforementioned hole came because of the reckless handling of a slingshot. The culprit will remain nameless, but we now affectionately call that individual “Ellie May” (from the Beverly Hillbillies).

Let me emphasize that the slingshot was not intentional, just careless. Unfortunately, it didn’t matter, the results were still the same. As the repair man drove off yesterday with $300 of my money, I was reminded our actions always have consequences.

My love for that girl did not wane one iota after any of the incidents mentioned above. You see she is my child. I am her daddy. I love her not because of WHAT she can do for me, but because of WHO she is.

I am so thankful that God loves me infinitely more, for the same reason. I am His child. Because I have been adopted in to His family. Not because of anything great I have done, but for what His Son has done. I am so glad His actions, had eternal consequences for me.  What about you?….

 IMG_5048

But God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  (Romans 5:8 ESV)

