Un-stuff Your Schedule

by kingteamdad

We should make plans – counting on God to direct us” (Proverbs 16:9 LB).

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Last evening I came in after having a long day of work. During the day I looked at several new products and engaged in conversations of a joint venture while maintaining my sanity with our existing business. Probably not so unlike most business people that day.

Walking in to the kitchen, I found Chef Evan working feverishly with some eggs. Recently Kris had found an old egg cooker in storage that was her grandmother’s. Evan had taken it upon himself to master this apparatus. With my head still spinning from the day, I walked by as he begin to peel three hard boiled  eggs. I stopped and propped on the counter top as he begin his process. He finished his first egg and began working on the second when he looked up at me and asked me what I was doing. My reply was “just watching my youngest grow up”. Evan smiled and kept working. When he started on his third egg he looked at me again and said “Dad this is starting to get a little freaky. Are you going to steal one of my eggs?”

I laughed and assured him that since I don’t like hard boiled eggs, his hard work was not being threatened. As he peeled, we talked about the nuances of eggs. He then talked about the wonderful way salt added a whole new level of taste to eggs. I asked him if he had ever tried pepper as I fed our dog Pepe little pieces of egg that fell to the counter from Evan’s work. (Our backyard chickens give us fresh eggs that don’t peel very cleanly).

He walked over to the table and began to enjoy the fruits of his labors. We talked until he finished. I helped him clean up and then he headed back to do homework.

During that half hour, I pondered none of the things I had been working on that day. I had temporarily tuned all that out and simply enjoyed being in the presence of my youngest son.

Later that evening I found him still doing school work. I asked him to stop for a second and let me pray for him. As he bowed his head, I thanked God for a wonderful family, a wonderful home, a wonderful son who was so easy to love, and a wonderful Saviour. I then kissed the top of his head, told him I loved him and was proud of him, and then headed back upstairs.

How many times have I have walked in from a busy day and missed a similar opportunity?….

IMG_3280

A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. (Proverbs 17:22 ESV)

