Spiritual Habits: Tithing

by kingteamdad

Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.” (Matthew 6:21 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I remember one time Lacy and I went for a ride on one of our daddy dates. She was in a talkative mood, and our 10 minute drive turned into several hours.

After numerous course corrections at her request, we finally turned the wheel homeward. As we passed the local grocery store, Lacy announced we needed to make a stop. We parked, grabbed a cart, and headed inside. She went and bought some crackers and then headed for the refrigerated section.  We stopped in front of some mint chocolate chip ice cream. After several minutes of searching, she found the one she was looking for. We paid the cashier and headed home.

Several hours later I heard a commotion in the kitchen. When I arrived at the scene I found Lacy and Evan having an argument over the ice cream. My precious, sweet, adorable daughter was getting ready to kill her brother because he had eaten some of “her” ice cream. I was a little taken back, recalling they had plenty more at the grocery store, AND, that I had been the one to purchase that ice cream with my money, NOT Lacy. We called in the professional mediator, and soon Kris had things settled.

I wonder how often the sin nature is like that with me?  If I read my Bible right, everything I have is a gift from God.  The light I see beginning to peek through the window is a reminder of the gift of another day. The car I will drive today is in my possession only because He has blessed me with enough sense to have a decent job. With that income He blesses me with each month I am able to support my family. He’s even blessed me with a house to live in, that has a big freezer, with room to put plenty of ice cream!

Yet I find myself from time to time, being asked to give back a little of my “ice cream” and I am reluctant. In fact, sometimes I say “Mine!”  I am not very proud of myself when I act like that. After all, I’ve read about His freezer, and he has a whole lot of “Ice Cream”!…

IMG_3514

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. (Matthew 6:19-21  ESV)

