Spiritual Habits: Quiet TIme

by kingteamdad

Show me the path where I should go, O Lord; point out the right road for me to walk.” (Psalms 25:4 TLB)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Outside of Christ, I have three men who have impacted my life in a mighty way, my dad, Dr. Jim Lyons, and Phil Downer. All three men demonstrated to me a deep love for Jesus, and more significantly, the importance of spending time each day with him.

I heard my dad early every morning praying. Later, when I worked with him, I saw him reading his Bible every day at lunch. Dr. Jim and Phil, shared with me through breakfast meetings, how they structured their days so that early each morning they spent time reading scripture and praying. It was apparent they did so by the voluminous amount of scripture they could recite to me as we talked. I’ve seen both men get up to speak publicly and recite verse after verse. Often they would nonchalantly hold their Bible open as if to read it, but never look down.

Phil would share with me how he would figure out his next day, and then plan to get up an hour earlier so he could spend time with God. Dr. Jim met me early every Monday morning and talked with me about scripture as he helped me memorize it. Both men gave me example after example of men whose lives were radically changed when they took time to consistently meet with God each day.

As our kids got old enough to work on their own faith, I encouraged them to spend time with God. We worked on memorizing scripture. We had time in the evenings where we sat together, read a devotional and prayed. We called it “circle” time.

As the teenage years rolled around, schedules changed.  There was practice for this or that, meetings, etc., that made the group time harder. So we all were forced to go to individual time with God. Many a time I would ask one of the kids what their devotion was on and they gave me that glazed over look, and then would say they had not done one yet. I would correct them and say they had. Emphatically they would say they had not. I then would point out that Facebook, TV, or whatever they had gotten up and done first, WAS their devotion. Time and time again I would ask them about their devotion, encouraging them to have one. Each night and most mornings I did pray with them, and sometimes shared what I had studied.

Eventually, I felt led to put my convictions into action. So here I am attempting to write 365 of these for my precious children. Hopefully, as the years go by, they will occasionally read one of these. My prayer is when they do, in some small way they will be encouraged like I have so many times by my dad, Phil and Dr. Jim….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be My disciples.  (John 15:7-8 ESV)

