God Smiles When We Trust

by kingteamdad

Without faith it is impossible to please God.” (Hebrews 11:6 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Last week on the way back from Maryland, I picked up our oldest from Liberty University. I called Connor a week earlier to tell him I’d be passing by, just in case he could get out of school 2 days early for spring break. He talked to his teachers, rearranged a lab, and on Wednesday afternoon I picked him up.

With his mom clueless about the plans, he was heading home early. He drove for the first hour so I could wrap up some end of the day stuff on my computer. Somewhere around Danville, we switched and I drove and he talked. We caught up on school, roommates, the food at school, that morning’s convocation, politics, and life in general. I am glad he was talkative because I was pooped from the last two days of driving and meetings.

A week later I don’t recall all the details of their convocation he mentioned. I do remember how moved he was by the speaker’s faith. Connor said you could hear a pin drop in the arena holding 12,000 people as the speaker shared. When the speaker ran over several minutes, no one got up to leave. The trials and tribulations, and the faith that brought that speaker through life, was apparent. It was refreshing.

Eventually the conversation came back around to food. I asked Connor what he wanted to eat and then gave him several fast food choices. His answer was interesting. He wanted something unique. At first I thought he wanted something unusual like “southern fried cabbage with tarragon and trout”. But then he went on to say the food at school was good, but it all tasted similar with its seasoning. He just wanted something that was unique in taste. He soon saw what he wanted, and we pulled in to grab a quick bite.

I wonder if that is what true faith is like? The majority of the world is just coasting along, buying the right jeans, driving the right car, talking on the right phone, reading the right books, and interested in the right things. A lot of it can even be good. But it all “tastes” the same. But a person of true faith, one who walks the walk, and talks the talk, will stick out as unique.

Jesus was definitely unique. This God/man walked around and talked about radical stuff for His time. He talked about loving your fellow man. He talked with people it was not cool to talk to. He ate with people with whom you did not want to be seen eating.  And then He did something really unique-He died in our place. He selflessly took our place on death row.

Today I hope my faith helps me be unique….

1508068_10152292581189188_610602060_n

By faith Noah, being warned by God concerning events as yet unseen, in reverent fear constructed an ark for the saving of his household. By this he condemned the world and became an heir of the righteousness that comes by faith.  (Hebrews 11:7 ESV)

