Let Go and Let God Work

by kingteamdad

Father, everything is possible for you. Please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will, not mine.” (Mark 14:36 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Kris’ husband – It’s been three weeks since we found out my father-in-law has pancreatic cancer. The days since have been roller coaster rides with emotions. My precious in-laws, whom I love like my own parents, lived with us for over four years up until five months ago.

Since my dad’s death five years ago, Kris’ dad has been my surrogate dad. He has been my right hand in running our small medical business. We have had our moments where we butted heads, but my love for him never waned. Many a day I found myself leaning on him. He was there for me when I needed someone, sometimes that someone being a dad. Needless to say we are very close.

The other night we had dinner with them at their new house. The calmness that Tom showed the night before his first chemo treatment was remarkable. Sure, he was not excited about having something put in his body that would probably make him sick. He joked and said the next morning he didn’t know if he was going right or left when he got to the highway. I knew right was the oncologist, so I asked him what was left? He smiled and said “California”, showing his anxiousness about the morning. 

I woke up early this morning with Tom on my mind. I reminded myself that God is our Creator. He is our Healer. He is our Father. This morning I prayed to Him asking that His will be done. Would I like to see Tom healed? Absolutely! Would I like to have him around longer to lean on? Sure! But my finite little mind can’t even begin to comprehend God’s grand design. After all, He is the one who came up with the butterfly. So I guess any “Butterfly effect” is His, too.

Any of us in a similar situation, would pray a prayer pleading to God for healing. I know I did that for my own sweet dad who battled Parkinson’s for years. God in His infinite wisdom, heard my prayer and answered it. He just chose to do so by healing my dad and giving him a new body when He called him home.

Jesus understands the pain we are going through. He understands the flood of emotions we feel as we pray for healing. He understands the moments of hopelessness we find ourselves caught in.

The Bible tells us the night before they crucified Him, the night before they tortured and humiliated Him, He prayed so hard the sweat became blood. He knew what was coming. Jesus knew that His Father who had always been with Him, would have to leave Him, turn His back on him, when God allowed all the sins of the world to be heaped on Him.

The night before He died he prayed for hours. He prayed His heart out. He pled with His Dad, “Father, everything is possible for You. Please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want Your will, not mine.”

God chose to let His Son die a terrible death. Anyone watching would have said “WHY?!?” But God knew why. So today I will once again get up and pray my prayers. But I will try to remember that He is God, and He ALWAYS knows why….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And He said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Remove this cup from Me. Yet not what I will, but what You will.”  (Mark 14:36 ESV)

