The Barrier of Pride

by kingteamdad

The reason why many are still troubled, still seeking, still making little forward progress is because they haven’t yet come to the end of themselves. We’re still trying to give orders, and interfering with God’s work within us.” A.W. Tozer

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – All three of our kids are special, and Connor is no exception. He is a very gifted young man. Connor is also the typical perfectionist first born.

I remember Connor not reading way beyond the normal time for kids his age. We were homeschooling, so Kris had the luxury of letting him bloom late if needed. We let him gravitate to things that interested him. Reading was not one of them.

One day when Kris was getting ready to pull her hair out, Connor sat down at the table and started reading. He did not stop with one word, or one sentence, he did not stop until he finished the page.

Connor, like many of us, did not want do it until he could do it well. He, like his dad, dealt with the issue of pride. We realized with his perfectionism/pride we needed to give him opportunities to fail at things. We needed to go without correcting him if he didn’t get something exactly right. What we did do was do things the correct way in his presence so he could learn by watching.

Years ago when I was being discipled by Dr. Jim, a young guy came to one of our small group Bible studies. Several weeks later Dr. Jim pushed me into meeting with the guy even though I felt totally inadequate, I didn’t think I was ready. I am sure I did many things wrong. But I watched what Dr. Jim did with me, and tried to emulate him. Fifteen years later, I still find myself wondering what Dr. Jim would do in certain situations.

When I look at Dr. Jim, I see a resemblance to Jesus. Why? Because I never saw him struggling with pride. I saw Dr. Jim time and time again, do the lowliest of jobs, the most menial tasks. Ones you would think below that of a surgeon. Yet, he did them. And he did them to the best of his ability. I was also with him in the O.R. where surgeons can act less like Jesus and more like God 🙂 But even in the O.R. his humility and lack of pridefulness were ever present.

Of course that shouldn’t come as a surprise to me. After all, Dr. Jim always uses Jesus as his model to emulate. And Jesus was willing to do the lowliest of jobs. He never struggled with pride.  And Jesus wasn’t just a carpenter. He washed feet even though He was the Son of God, The King of Kings….

IMG_5047

Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God.  (2 Corinthians 3:5  ESV)

