Let Love Motivate Your Work

by kingteamdad

So then, my friends, because of God’s great mercy to us I appeal to you: Offer yourselves as a living sacrifice to God, dedicated to his service and pleasing to him. This is the true worship that you should offer.” (Romans 12:1 TEV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Our kids are different in many ways. They are however, similar in many ways, too. All three have been great kids, giving us very little trouble over the years. Their big stuff –  leaving the milk out, or the really big stuff -not turning off a light when they go to bed, are things Kris reminds me are easy to deal with.

Yes, we are blessed when it comes to the three children God gave us. Lacy is no exception. Our singer/performer is a butterfly in many ways. Lighting on this flower for a minute to take in life, and then suddenly fluttering away because some other bloom has gotten her attention.  Hence, sometimes things don’t get finished as she is drawn away by a distraction and clutter is left in her absence.

So it is not unusual to walk by an area she has been in (like the den, kitchen, or her bedroom) and find evidence of her “recent presence”. Things scattered about from an earlier “moment of creativity”. I am constantly finding said evidence and encouraging her to “get rid of the evidence”.:)

So when I come into the house and find the kitchen sparkling clean and everything in its place, and then find Lacy smiling like a cheshire cat, I know she did it for me. I can look around and see where she was screaming “I love you Daddy”…by what I DON’T see!

There are areas of my life where I struggle with some version of “clutter”. I try, but time and time again, it happens. So when God see’s me focused and working on getting rid of that clutter or trash, I hope the love I have for Him that is my motivation, is as apparent to Him, as Lacy’s is to me….

IMG_0045.JPG

Let all that you do be done in love.  (1 Corinthians 16:14  ESV)

