Mundane Work Still Offering to God

by kingteamdad

Take your everyday, ordinary life – your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life – and place it before God as an offering.” (Romans 12:1 MSG)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Some people seem to only enjoy doing things when they are “large” and in the spot light. I’ve been around people who think the boring little jobs are for someone else. In fact, I have had co-workers who literally stood around, waiting for someone else to do something, because they felt it was below them.

I’ve seen workers let their boss clean up and take out the trash because that was not in their job description. A couple of times I have watched the worker stand by and talk to their boss, while he cleaned up!

When it comes to doing the mundane, Connor, from a very young age, has shown a willingness to do. Kris and I have had many a party at our house for church, work, neighborhood, and family. The kids have been called on to entertain, babysit, serve, speak, and clean up. I am thankful that our oldest has always shown a willingness to do what is needed. And from an early age, he has done it with a “happy heart”.

When I look back at the life of Christ, He never complained. He willingly did the lowliest of jobs, washing His disciples feet. He sat by the well and talked to the low class Samaritan woman. He let the lepers, the unapproachable, approach Him. He got his hands muddy as He healed the blind man. He even hung out with the “crooked IRS agent” of the day, the tax collector, and had dinner with him and his friends. Knowing all along what these people were truly like.

And then to top it all off, He willingly climbed up on the cross, with no complaints, and died for them. In fact, according to the Gospels, He died for our sins. He died in our place. He did our dirty work for us, while we just stood around and watched.

There is no way that I will ever even begin to be like Him. I am too judgmental. I am too lazy. I think I am too good for that menial chore.

I know that it will be impossible to be mistaken for Jesus. I just hope that I can occasionally be mistaken for Connor….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands upon us… (Psalm 90: 17 ESV)

