Is Your Job a Mismatch for Your Gifts?

by kingteamdad

“God does not expect you to glorify Him with gifts you don’t have. But He does expect you to glorify Him with gifts you do have.” – Rick Warren

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Evan told me recently that he wants a part-time job. We pondered what would be a good one for him since he is a people person. This led me to discuss with him some of my former jobs.

  1. My first job consisted of sitting out in our front yard under the tree and selling tomatoes off of a card table. (boring)
  2. Second job was watching over telephone repairmen while they went down into manholes, making sure no one fell in. (downtown ATL…not so boring)
  3. The next summer I was working in the kitchen of a cafeteria. (boring x 2)
  4. The next summer with dad’s help, I had a lawn cutting service. (not so bad)
  5. The next job was when I graduated from high school and I worked on an assembly line. (BORING/Monotonous!)
  6. Graduated from college, started in my sales career, and have enjoyed work (most days) since then.

My mom and dad raised me to do the best I could at whatever I was doing at the time. Of course that training came at a high price! Many a time my mom had me go back and vacuum a room again because I didn’t do it to the best of my ability the first time. I have rewashed many a car because my dad pointed out the places I missed when it was dry.

By the time I was doing some of the jobs mentioned above, I had learned to do the best I could at each one. And each one I excelled with, even though I didn’t really like them. I would like to think I probably could have stayed and been considered an excellent employee at any of those jobs, but would I have been where God wanted me?

God wired me a certain way. He gave me certain talents, and He gave me certain weaknesses. I am pretty sure He was considering what He wanted me to do when He was molding me. The same can be said for each one of us. If we are a follower of Christ, then He has a work for us to do.

Whether its washing dishes, watching man holes, or selling medical equipment, we should to it to the best of our ability. We should also make sure we are working at the right place. Other wise, we might be missing out. I don’t want to get to Heaven and hear Him say “you did fine doing that…but THIS is what you COULD have been doing”, and in that moment catch a glimpse of what could have been. Not for me, but for HIM….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Only let each person lead the life that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him. This is my rule in all the churches.  (1 Corinthians 7:17  ESV)

