Faith is Something You Do

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I was at an awards banquet a few nights ago. There was plenty of free flowing adult beverages before, during, and after. One acquaintance later in the evening came up to talk to me. He was obviously very thirsty because he had a beer in both hands.

Knowing he is from Colorado, I brought up some of their more visible changes in law. Off he went telling me why it was a good thing. The expletives flowed from his mouth. At one point it was almost comical watching him see how many he could fit in to each sentence. As the conversation drug on, he finally asked me about my family. I told him Connor was a freshman up in Virginia.  He said, “Really? Where?” When I replied Liberty University, he almost blushed and apologized profusely for the way he was talking and the stances he had taken. His reasoning was he tried to take the middle ground so he wouldn’t offend anyone.  He went on to tell me he had even attended an ultra-conservative Christian school, Bob Jones University, in South Carolina.

It was sad to watch him try and backpedal on things he had said earlier. I finally looked at him, smiled and told him he shouldn’t worry what I or others thought. He should just stick to his convictions…the problem is I don’t know that he has any. In light of the beverages he had already drank, that was a conversation for another time.

IMG_3620

In recent years, as Lacy’s matured in her Christian walk, she has had firsthand experience at seeing friends in a church setting. She has also seen them away from that setting. And with that she has had several friends or acquaintances that had a church face, and a worldly face.

I guess all of us who go to worship on a regular basis do that to some degree. Hopefully, as we head to church to hear about Jesus, we want to imitate Him the best we can. We put on our church clothes and our church smile and off we go. We greet each other and typically ask “How are you today?” Sometimes we even wait to hear the answer.

But Lacy has discovered that some people don’t act on Tuesday like they did on Sunday!

The best case scenario is we let the world influence us too much, like trees in the wind. Whichever way the wind is blowing, that is the way we are leaning.

The worst case scenario is we don’t really know Him.

Daily we will bump into both kinds of people. My prayer is today my walk will be such that it’s apparent I’ve had an encounter with Christ, and I am a new creation, not just by my words, but also by my actions….

But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.  (James 2:18 ESV)

