Faith is More Than Feelings

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Connor was born with more compassion then I will ever have.  That is one of the many things that I admire about him. I’ve watched him with the elderly. I’ve watched him with the sick and the needy. I have watched him with the special needs.

I don’t know that we have ever passed by someone in need that he didn’t mention it. I remember once we were at Grady Hospital in downtown Atlanta. He was probably 6 and with me as I took something they needed in the O.R. We were walking quickly back across the plaza when a guy that was a regular panhandler hit us up for some money. I could feel Connor’s eyes looking up at me pleading with me to help him. I looked at the guy, and then I looked  back at Connor. The man insisted he needed the money for “food”. Reluctantly, I told him that I would buy him anything he wanted at the McDonalds next door. As we walked toward the golden arches, Connor had the biggest grin on his face as he talked to our “new friend”.

Meanwhile I was flustered because I could tell by the man’s body language, he was perturbed he was getting food instead of money. Indifferently he told me what he wanted, and chose to stand back by the door as we went up to order. When we returned with the bag of food a few minutes later, he was gone. Connor got upset and wanted to know where our new friend went. I told him the truth…that he was running late to catch an airplane. That seemed to calm his 6 year old mind.

We walked out the door and I was still upset with the panhandler walking off and leaving us with a bag full of food,wondering what to do with it. About the time we stepped out onto the sidewalk we saw a little lady asking for change to buy some food. Connor grabbed my arm and took me over to her. She looked at us as we walked her way, and quickly told us she was hungry. We smiled and asked her if she’d like two Big Mac’s and a large order of fries. She looked at Connor, then me, then the bag, back at Connor and then back at me, suspicious of our motives. I think about the second time she looked at Connor, she realized our offer was legitimate. She took the bag of food and with the most sincere expression, thanked us.

Connor of course introduced himself and talked to her for a minute. I just wanted to get him safely to the car. As we walked away the little lady smiled at me and said “Thank you friend!”

Connor talked about it all the way home. In fact he wanted to tell his mom all about it when we got home. She didn’t seem to be quite as excited as he was to hear about her 6 year old walking around in a downtown area with a bunch of panhandlers milling around. (Oops!)

That night as we said our prayers, Connor reminded me to pray for our friends we had met that day. His precious mind was still on their welfare.

Weeks went by. One day I again found myself down at Grady hospital. As I exited the front door and walked toward my car, I saw the little lady talking to herself and checking something out on her hand that was apparently very interesting. Realizing she would not remember me, I just kept walking.  As I passed her, she looked up and recognized me, smiled and said “hello Friend!” I was shocked that she remembered.

But then I remembered a sweet compassionate 6 year old. Who gladly gave the hungry lady food. Who later that night as he lay in his warm bed, thought about her and asked God to be with her.  

I walked her back over to McDonald’s and bought her another Big Mac….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, 16and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that?  (James 2:15 ESV)

