Pleasing God – By Acclaiming Faith

by kingteamdad

Not everybody who says to me, `Lord, Lord’ is going to enter into heaven.”  (Matthew 7:21)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Evan and I got to hang out with some cool guys the other night. We invited the dad’s from our Bible Study group over to watch the not so Super Bowl. I didn’t really have a team in it, since our Falcons didn’t make it, again. As I was changing for the party, I noticed I had a shirt that was the colors of the Denver Broncos. I like Peyton Manning, so I decided to throw it on and try to stir things up a little when the guys arrived.

As the game was getting under way we found out several of the guys didn’t care who won, they were just there to see if there were any good commercials, for the fellowship, and for the different chili’s being brought. There were several guys rooting for the Broncos, and several more were strongly rooting for Russell Wilson and his Seattle Seahawks.

I sat down with the Seattle fans wearing my obnoxious orange and blue shirt. They ribbed me a little and told me I was sitting in the wrong section. I replied with a smile that after a few more diet cokes, I would probably want to get in to some ‘fisticuffs” with one of them (most of whom were 6 inches taller and 50 lbs heavier!:)

As we know now, Peyton’s Broncos started the game with a bad snap and a touchback…and it went down hill from there. I yelled and screamed (and moaned) with the other Bronco fans.  We would have momentary reprieves with the mostly feeble attempts at commercials. Evan and his buddy Aaron, had a good time drinking it all in.

During half-time one of the guys came up to me and said, “Ted, you really aren’t a big Denver fan are you?” I looked at him with a grin and insisted I was, and wanted to know why he asked. His reply was simple, he said “you don’t know the team.” And of course he was right. I knew who Peyton Manning was, I could even recognize him in a Papa John’s Pizza commercial. But I couldn’t tell you another thing about his team, because I was just a passive onlooker.

Unfortunately, I think many of the people who claim to be Christians are just passive on-lookers. Some of them wear the right clothes with a cross around their neck. They walk in and hang out for a few minutes with other Christians “rooting for Jesus”, like I did Peyton.

But if you watch their lives, you quickly realize they are just going through the motions. They think life’s a game, and they really don’t “know” the team.

It’s our job as believers to consistently walk and talk in a way that those standing beside us in the game of life, realize there is a reason we root and cheer for Jesus. They need to know we aren’t fair weather fans, but that we follow Him, we love and adore Him, because of what He did for us!…..

IMG_3013

“Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of My Father who is in heaven. (Matthew 7:21  ESV)

