Be Confident About the Future

by kingteamdad

Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.” (2 Corinthians 5:6, 8 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Several months ago Lacy and I headed out in the Jeep to make a run to the grocery store for Kris. One thing led to another…a lunch and dinner were involved, and before you know it, 8 hours later, we were home with the bread.

When we headed out that morning it was mild and we were comfortable with the top off the Jeep. As our journey continued, and we strayed further from our original course, the weather worsened. Several hours later we were having to make a stop at an outlet mall to buy jackets, hats, and gloves. We had not planned ahead for the journey or the weather, and got caught off guard. Fortunately, we had the luxury of a store where we could improve our situation.

Kris and I just finished watching the mini-series Klondike. Those were rugged individuals who did not get mulligans or do-overs. They had no Weather Channel, no GPS, no snow machines, and no outlet malls along the way. Even if they planned meticulously, something unseen could come up like weather, an avalanche, or being robbed. An article Kris read said that less then 10% of those who set out for the Klondike, ever made it. That means 90% of those who started the journey never made it. Some gave up because of the incredible hardship to reach their target, Dawson City. Some died along the way. Of the 10% who did make it, very few found enough gold to be rich. Food became so scarce during the winter, that eventually in the movie an orange was selling for $100! That sounds like some pretty bad conditions.The percentages sound like some pretty lousy odds.

In the book of Revelation, we read John’s inspired writings. There have been countless interpretations of different passages he penned. There is one in particular I like: “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with Me.” (Rev. 3:20)

I am so thankful it says “if anyone” and not “for those special few”. I am glad that the percentages aren’t stacked against us. We simply need to accept the gift He offers.

Jesus promised us when He was leaving that in His place He was sending a Helper. The Holy Spirit is now available for us believers, helping us along the way, if we will listen. I am so thankful that I don’t have to go on this journey called life, without a game plan. Without a map. Without help. It’s up to me to do my part to allow my GPS, the Holy Spirit, to do all the work in my life that God intends, and get me safely across the finish line….  

IMG_1949

 For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. (2 Corinthians 5:1)

