Connect by Being Candid

by kingteamdad

“People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care.” – Theodore Roosevelt

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad –  I so appreciate the way Kris has raised our kids to talk with us about anything. I somewhat expected it with Connor our oldest. I even could see it with our one daughter, Lacy. But I have to admit that I was surprised to find Evan as open with us.

Kris just has the uncanny ability to put them at ease. I have walked in and found her in deep conversation with one of them, sometimes all of them. They’ve also heard about or seen her have candid conversations with friends over marriage, children, business, finances or religion.

It should have come as no surprise when each of our kids came to us with situations where they were trying to give advice to a friend in need. They were simply modeling what they had seen their mom do time and time again.

Today Kris told me that Evan was going to have a talk with a friend. It seems he and Lacy are both concerned about the recent behavior of that mutual friend. He is a good kid, from a good family. He just happens to be starting down a path that is not wise.

I am so thankful that all three of our kids have watched their mom praise or compliment them in public, and correct in private. I see them doing the same thing now as they grow older. Like Kris, they have all learned to try and correct a friend when they are up, and not down. And I would like to think they can take the same type correction given them, in the proper way.

When I look through the Gospels at the life of Christ, I find that He sometimes corrected people. But, I sincerely doubt any of them walked away after looking in His eyes…not knowing that He cared for them….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An honest answer is like a kiss on the lips.  (Proverbs 24:26 NIV)
