You Are Capable…because of God

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS From Kris’ husband – On a sunny Sunday morn, I met a beautiful blonde walking across the parking lot of First Baptist Atlanta. She was with some friends of mine, who soon introduced her to me. Our eyes met and I noticed two things, they were beautiful, and they were insecure.

She got embarrassed easily. She was often timid, and would break eye contact looking down to the ground. She was at times excitable and talkative, but quickly would retreat into the quiet, and let others take over. I watched this beautiful girl, and was intrigued with her. My girlfriend ended up being roommates with her and soon we were taking her on dates with us. She was like a little sister to me. Like all of us, I learned that she had some good experiences, and some really bad experiences in college. Hanging around me and my girlfriend, she found I had a few of my own. In our bible study class we were asked to tell a little about ourselves and I could see the dread on her face as the teacher went around the room. (Later she told me she was literally panicking on the inside with doubt and insecurity!)

Several months later my girlfriend and I broke up and I lost track of the insecure pretty blond. Life went on. Weeks and months passed. Then one Sunday I’m sitting on the end of the pew, and in steps the blonde. She walks toward me and grabbed the last seat next to me in the packed sanctuary. She looked more grown up and I have to admit there was a little tingle when our shoulders touched. After the service we talked and caught up, after not seeing each other for several months. A week later we found ourselves dating.

Two years later, I married that shy girl on a hot and humid Atlanta Saturday in the middle of July. Five pregnancies and 3 kids later, we have now been happily married over 22 years.

Guess what God did with that insecure and shy little girl? He started her working with kids our first year of marriage. Then a few years later it was co-teaching singles with me, and then young marrieds. I look back and realize that for 19 of the past 22 years that insecure young lady has been getting up in front of people. Kris has spoken in front of groups as small as 4 and as large as 1000, even had to use a translator in South America. I am still amazed at what she has been able to do, and how effortless she makes it look. She stopped listening to those doubts in her mind, and started listening to the Holy Spirit. It has been such a “God thing” for her.

That’s a far stretch for a young lady who hesitated to look me in the eye for more then 10 seconds at a time.  Its amazing what we can do when we stop listening to ourselves and start leaning on, and listening to God!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA206433_1991524230801_871655_n

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ (Matthew 25:21 ESV)

