How To Connect With People

by kingteamdad

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When it comes to our kids, Evan is definitely one who would not do well without being able to connect with other people. He is very social and enjoys being around others. I like watching him. He doesn’t have to be the center of attention, and he doesn’t need it so bad that he will follow the crowd when he knows he shouldn’t. He has become his own man.

Recently I noticed he was no longer hanging around a certain friend. They seemed to really hit it off last year. When I asked him about it, sadly he looked at me and said that friend was making some bad choices. I reminded Evan that we need to be that friend that remains constant in our walk, so others can see the right path to take. He totally agreed. But then he shared something with me that was way beyond his years. He said “Dad, I was concerned he might pull me in.”  I immediately knew what he meant.

When Kris and I were singles we had a Bible study teacher at First Baptist that warned of “missionary dating”. Its where you try to win an unchurched person you are dating over to Christ. She used the analogy of standing on the side of the pool and trying to pull someone out who was drowning. She showed us through that word picture that if they were strong enough (or us weak enough) they could pull us in. One moment we could be up on the side safe and dry, and the next moment in the pool, wet, and not happy with our circumstances.

Evan recognized that in this particular situation, he needed to back away before getting pulled in. I wonder how often more mature people my age, don’t understand that danger, or worse, think they are strong enough, and in due time get pulled in.

God wants us to connect with those around us. We see example after example in the Gospels where Jesus connected with people. Bad people. Dirty people. People drowning in sin. But we must remember that He was infinitely stronger then us. And even Jesus had 12 guys hanging around him most of the time.

I am thankful I have a band of Christian brothers I meet with on Wednesday nights. We share our troubles and concerns. We sometimes come along side each other to keep the other from getting pulled in.

God tells us to be as wise as serpents, but as innocent as doves.  (Matthew 10:6)

Sometimes we Christians forget the wise part, and the next thing you know, some one is having to hand us a towel as we are helped back out of the pool….

Perfume and incense bring joy to the heart, and the pleasantness of a friend springs from their heartfelt advice.  (Proverbs 27:9  NIV)

