God Says You’re Forgivable

by kingteamdad

Even before the world was made, God had already chosen us to be His through our union with Christ, so that we would be holy and without fault before Him. Because of His love God had already decided that through Jesus Christ He would make us His children – this was His pleasure and purpose.” ( Ephesians 1:4-5 TEV)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Up at the Cloudland cabin this past week we got on the topic of things that happened when the kids were little. There were some great stories recounted about our three, and our friends 4 kids.

Stories were shared from blatant defiance to thoughtless creativity. The kids laughed as they once again heard some stories of their childhood. One in particular is of Connor when he was in diapers. Our firstborn was a joy most of the time, often with a dimpled smile on his face.

I will never forget an incident in our first house. Months earlier we had finished decorating an upstairs bedroom that we turned in to the nursery. The new white crib, beautiful multi colored curtains with baby blue accents, and white rocking chair, looked perfect the day we brought Connor home from the hospital.

One evening when he was around 13 months old, Kris went up to check on him. Minutes later I heard “OH MY GOODNESS!!….TED!!”  Up the stairs I went, not knowing what to expect. When I reached the door of Connor’s nursery, Kris stopped me with strange smile on her face, and said “you are not going to believe this”!

When I walked in and surveyed the scene, the crib, wall, and Connor had been bathed in a fresh coat of brown poo. His dirty diaper lay nonchalantly in the corner of his crib. Kris’ earlier reaction suddenly made perfect sense. The pacifier in Connor’s mouth left a perfect little round white circle on his brown face, when we took it out!

His expression was priceless – Hey mom and dad! This seemed like a really good idea at the time. But now, I am second guessing my decision. By the way, what is that terrible smell?!?

Several hours later, the room, and Connor, were once again looking, and smelling, clean!

Change the name from Connor to Ted, and there have been countless times in my life where it seemed like a really good idea…for a few minutes.

I am so thankful that Ephesians 1:4-5 talks about God, even before the world was made, knew me, knew all my stupid decisions I’d make, and still let His Son die for me.

That means when I make decisions that lead to me being covered in filth, He doesn’t see that, He see’s an IMPERFECT child, bathed in the PERFECT blood of Jesus…forgiven!!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“I, I am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake, and I will not remember your sins.”  (Isaiah 43:25 ESV)

