God Says You’re Acceptable

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Kris’ husband – Maybe eight years ago I was walking some property with my old roommate and close friend, John Tatum. He had a vision of getting some land and developing a little community for our kids to grow up on while making memories.

As we drove out on the overgrown field with weeds and thorns everywhere, I looked over and saw an ugly old run down house. Close by was a barn with the roof falling in. It reminded me of something. And then it came to me, and I fully expected to hear a banjo start playing off in the distance.

I was unimpressed as I took in what was around me. It appeared to be a run down old farm that had gone way past its usefulness. But then John started talking, painting a mental picture of the turn of the century community he could “see” there in it’s place. A little general store over there, an old one room school house over there, little cottage style homes along that ridge, and a lake at the entrance. Pretty soon I was excited at what I could see. I took a few pictures as I listened to him talk. We walked the property for a few hours and then headed back toward Atlanta.

Kris asked me how the day went. I showed her a few of my pictures and she was unimpressed. It seems my verbal painting skills were not up to John’s level. John went on to buy that old eye sore of a piece of land. Bought a couple of additional “eye sores” around it.

Over time Kris bought in to the dream, and 8 years later we were spending a week on that property with our family. That old run down ugly weed infested farm, is now one of our favorite places in the world. The memories and pictures we have through the years at that place, are vast, and priceless. And just as he painted it that day, John’s dream has continued to materialize over these years.

When God looks at us who have accepted His Son as our saviour, He has the ability to see us, not dirty, imperfect, and run-down, as the world see’s us, but as beautiful pieces of work.

Yes, we are a work in progress, but I am so thankful He can see me as acceptable right where I am, because He can see me where I will be…

IMG_2978

I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of Him, having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which He has called you, what are the riches of His glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His great might  (Ephesians 1:16-19  ESV)

