What God Says About You

by kingteamdad

Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!” (Matthew 25:23)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Yesterday Evan and his two siblings, along with the Wofford kids, hiked with me and Mr.Wofford up to the cave. It was a great day for a hike with temperatures in the high 40’s. On the way up we went by the waterfall that still had some beautiful ice from the single digit temperatures earlier in the week.

Soon we were up at the mouth of the cave. The 62 degree water flowing out of it actually felt warmer then usual with the chill in the air. We made sure the kids each had several flashlights, in case one died or got broken. Off they went into the darkness and soon the cave’s blackness swallowed them up.

I had a great idea of building a fire for them. I knew when they came back out their feet would be freezing from the water they had to walk through. I started the fire, and then made sure the smoke was blowing out of the mouth of the cave (and not in). Mr.Wofford and I got busy and gathered wood to throw on the fire. Soon we had a raging fire, any dad would be proud of. A few minutes later the wind seem to change and I asked Joey if the smoke was going in to the cave. Our concern started to grow, when suddenly Lacy and Savannah came out coughing. Lacy looked at me and said “DAD! Are you trying to kill us?”

Feverishly I splashed water up from the caves stream on to our fire and seconds later it was out. Our hope of a warm fire to toast their toes, dashed! The girls in very dramatic fashion told us how the smoke started filling the cave with eerie shadows against their flashlights. Now they were cold and soon they were headed back to the cabins, soaked from above their knees!

Now I had to anxiously wait for the others to come out. This concerned dad was wondering how bad the smoke got before we extinguished the fire. Did I have five teenagers unconscious in the cave? I hiked in to see if I could hear them with the one flashlight we had. I whistled and yelled, and even tried Evan on the walkie-talkie. Silence. The only commotion I got was from several irritated bats. Reluctantly I came back out and waited with Mr. Wofford. The minutes seemed like hours. The hours seemed like days.

Finally we heard laughter, and minutes later out popped Evan and his merry band of spelunkers. He looked at the burnt pile of wood and then at me, smiled and sarcastically said “nice job dad!” I quickly explained that I had labored to build a fire so they could warm themselves when exiting the cave. My intentions were not to “smoke them out”.

The remainder of the day was lent to Dad jokes regarding matches and fire. They all had a good laugh and I was glad to be the butt of the jokes, with everyone safely back out of the cave!

I am so glad God has the ability to see our mistakes. He is able to see all the times we made the cave smokey. He is able to see when our actions made others “cough”. What I am especially glad of is that He also can look at our hearts and see our motive.

My prayer is today I will take the one talent He has given me, and I won’t go bury it, but instead try to use it for His Kingdom. And if I goof up, He will look past it, and look at my heart….

photo

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant.You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’  (Matthew 25:21 ESV)

