Focus on Doing God’s Will

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Connor, our firstborn, has been the one to blaze the trail for Lacy and Evan. God was in a good mood the day He made Connor, giving him a lot of brain power, and a great compassion for others.

But like many firstborns, Connor struggles with perfectionism and has to keep his in check. It is a great amount of pressure that he puts on himself. His expectations can be sky high for others, but also himself.

Kris would remind me early on not to go up and tidy up his bed after he made it because a perfectionist see’s that as a sign of failure. I was fine with that because I was more interested in IF he made it up, following one of our house rules about making your bed up in the morning. I am glad to say that 99% of the time Connor got up, rubbed the sleep out of his eyes, and made his bed up.

When I’ve asked him to do something, he has always been good about dropping whatever he was doing, and fulfill what I asked him. He has kept his siblings out of trouble more then once. I might have asked them to do something, they say “sure”, and then get distracted doing what they were doing. He would often step in and remind them, saving them or at least attempting to save them from dad’s RED voice.

Now that I think about it, isn’t God the same way?  Isn’t He as interested in IF we are trying to do His will, as He is on how good we do it? Our heart, and mind, are as important to Him as our hands and feet. And I suspect when He does ask us to do something, He likes it when we jump up from what we are wanting to do, to do what He wants us to do….

IMG_2892

All things have been handed over to Me by My Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal Him. Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.  (Matthew 11:27-30  ESV)

