Quit Trying to Please Everybody

by kingteamdad

If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31 TEV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad –  I had no idea what I was getting into when Kris and I were expecting a child for the first time. I thought any kids we might have would be perfect little angels.

All three of our kids, including Evan, have from time to time made some dumb decisions. Don’t get me wrong, they have been incredible kids. But they aren’t perfect. There have been expensive glass french doors replaced. Nice custom couch cushions and leather seats have been cut, when they were mistakenly used as a cutting board. Lamps have been broken, mirrors shattered, holes appeared in walls where they weren’t supposed to be, and all of this from playing or horsing around.

The King kids have had their moments of imitating impish little elves. Mischievous moments leading to destructive outcomes for some innocent inanimate object that was minding its own business. A majority of the time they were trying to impress a friend or sibling, or in some way win a laugh or smile. Some of these incidents ended up being costly for dear old dad. I had my moments where I was frustrated with their decisions or actions. But I am glad to say it never lessened my love for them. Now I can look back at most of those incidents and actually smile or laugh at it and their faces.

I am so thankful that God is the same way with me. Constantly my carnal side is in a struggle with my spiritual side. As I read in Romans recently Paul’s comments that he did what he did not want to do, and did not do what he wanted to do.(Romans 7)  I find myself acting like Paul doing things that I shouldn’t do and not doing the things I should. Often times it is to please those around me…sometimes it might be just to please myself.

The great news is unlike this dad, God knew exactly what He was getting into when He created me. He knew ALL the dumb stuff I would do. Yet He loved me enough, that He still let Jesus die for me! I need to stop trying to please the world, and start trying to please Him more!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The fear of man lays a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is safe. Many seek the face of a ruler, but it is from the Lord that a man gets justice. (Proverbs 29:25-26  ESV)

