Eliminate Negative Self-talk

by kingteamdad

Fix your thoughts on what is true and good and right Think about all you can thank God for and be glad about.” (Philippians 4:8 TLB)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Connor played baseball several years when he was younger. I am not sure how much he or his siblings liked it. It might have been slightly my fault, because of the love I have for the game. But play they did.

I took Connor to the batting cage and coached him on hand-eye coordination. He swung several times at the ball and missed. When I asked him what he was thinking as he swung, his answer was “I am going to miss it again.”  I picked up a ball and borrowed his bat. I tossed the ball up and then swung making a loud ping as the metal bat drove the ball into the net. I looked at Connor and told him to visualize himself hitting the ball just before he swung the bat. He looked at me and said, “but I am going to miss it”.

“Connor you are very smart. If you have already decided before you swing, that you are going to miss the ball, you WILL miss the ball. Instead think how you are going to hit it. It might not happen at first, but it will happen.” After several more pitches, he started making contact. His eyes got big and a smile appeared as he got into the groove. He ended up being one of the top hitters on his team that year. And I stood by grinning with a big smile as I watched my boy.

I wonder how many times I have been guilty of doing what Connor did. How many times did I tell myself I would fail, and then promptly failed?  How many times did I lose the game striking out, after telling myself we would lose the game with me striking out?How many times did I “save myself the embarrassment” by not even trying?

It is starting to click with me in my more mature age, that God does NOT need us. He will win in the end, with or without us stepping up to bat. Like any good father, He loves us. I think like any good father, He wants us to enjoy life. God did not make us to fail. God made us to have fellowship with Him. He loved us enough to let His Son die for us. That would put a pretty high price tag on you and me seeing how He valued us that much.

The sooner that sinks in, and we start reminding ourselves how much we are loved, the sooner we can start enjoying life. The sooner we can start enjoying life on the rainy days and the sunny days,  the sooner He can use us in the game!….

IMG_2869

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.(Philippians 4:8 NIV)

