Live Relaxed in God’s Grace

by kingteamdad

There is no condemnation now for those who live in union with Christ Jesus.” (Romans 8:1 TEV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When Evan was much younger he enjoyed, like most kids, playing make believe. It didn’t hurt to have a theatrical sister. Lacy inspired him. It was not uncommon to see him wearing his army-man uniform, especially if he was around his cousin Adam.

If it wasn’t army-man, it was Spider-Man. He and Connor even wore gizmos on their wrists that shot out webbing (Silly String). When I came home from work, it was very apparent when they had been playing Spider-Man!

They even had their Superman and cowboy costumes. It wasn’t unusual to have one or all of them want to wear something “themed” to church on Sunday. Needless to say Halloween was no exception. I remember once Evan wearing a sheet with eyes cut out, walking around saying boo, confident that no one knew who he was!  I got tickled thinking about the little boy who was behind the sheet, smiling a big smile with one of his front teeth missing. His actions making it apparent that he was walking around picturing himself 7 feet tall scaring everyone within a 6 mile radius.

Regardless of the costume, be it a baseball player, an “army man”, or a super-hero, at that moment that is WHO he was! Did I mention that this loving dad thought he was slap dab adorable?!?

I hope that is the way God see’s me when I walk around trying to do my best Jesus imitation. Sometimes I even wear my WWJD bracelet on my wrist, driving around with a fish on my car. There are those moments where I get in a groove and catch myself looking at people through His eyes. In those rare moments I have great compassion for them. I almost feel their pain. I utter up a prayer for them and their life’s circumstances.

But like Evan in his costume, I am only imitating how I think Jesus, my superhero, acts. Hopefully, I have my moments. Obviously, God see’s me as one of His kids, walking around with my “superhero costume” on.

But in those moments I hope my Heavenly Father is smiling, knowing how pitiful an imitation I am doing, but in His unconditional love, thinking adorable….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As a father has compassion on his children, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear Him; for He knows how we are formed, He remembers that we are dust.  (Psalm 103:13-14 NIV)

 

