Confident in God’s Forgiveness

by kingteamdad

Look straight ahead with honest confidence; don’t hang your head in shame.” (Proverbs 4:25 TEV)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Lacy and her two brothers have been a joy to raise. Have they had their moments? Sure. They were and are such a blessing to Kris and me, however, they are not perfect.

For the most part, the imperfection has manifested itself with petty little arguments, and things getting broken around the house when they are not careful, or just horsing around. Case in point: an expensive piece of leaded glass. Lacy in an impulsive moment, did something without thinking and, bang, it gets busted. Thankfully, I reacted in a reasonable manner and she immediately apologized. I forgave her for the rash, poorly thought out, impulsiveness. The next day Lacy came up and apologized again, and again I forgave her.  A day or two later she came up to me again and apologized. I looked her in the eye, told her I had no idea what she was talking about, smiled, and gave her a hug. She understood what I meant and gave me a big hug and kiss. She walked away with a new found lightness in her step.

I think we are the same way with God sometime. It takes little effort to do something dumb or impulsive. Within moments we realize it was a dumb, rash, poorly thought out, example of our impulsive sin nature. We pray and ask God for forgiveness.

But here is the difference with those of us who are followers of Jesus Christ. When we bring it up again, God says “I have no idea what you are talking about.” Then, He reminds us that He loves us, and as proof, points to the Cross….

IMG_1823

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and all are justified freely by His grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. (Romans 3:23-24)

