Feel Abandoned, Worship God Anyway

by kingteamdad

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:2-4)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – For several years, I have tried to pray every night with Connor, Lacy and Evan, once they were in their beds. As they have grown up to be young adults, they often times find me to pray with them because they intend to stay up later then me.

Typically I pray asking God to bless them and protect them. Often I pray for them to have wisdom and that God will find them available and useful in their daily walk. Hopefully, I always thank Him for the way He made them. For their unique talents, gifts, and yes, even their flaws. After all, that is what makes them who they are. And I pray that they will encourage those who are followers of Christ, and be a light to those who aren’t.

There are times I just pray my “thank you” prayers. You might find me doing it after a particularly difficult day. Maybe I feel beaten up by the world after having to “step in to the ring and go a few rounds” in a hard work day. Or maybe it was some of those unforeseen bills we all get, that always seem to come at the most inopportune time. Other times it might be health issues beating us down.

There have been times where I felt so bloodied by the world, so worn out, that I kind of hoped He would just take me on home.  I would start the prayer feebly with “Thank You!” I then might thank Him for getting me through that awful day. I would then thank Him for the horrendous day He let Jesus experience for us and thank Him for loving us that much. I’d thank Him, after making the penalty for sin DEATH, for letting His Son be the one to crawl up on the cross and DIE in OUR place. Often I would then contemplate that with Connor or one of his siblings for a minute. The “Thank You’s” would begin to come more easily. A very sincere thank you for my precious family soon followed.

By the time I got around to saying “Amen”, I did not feel as beat up. I did not feel as hopeless. Instead, I felt incredibly blessed! And I felt incredibly loved!

THANK YOU FATHER! Not just for how the story starts, but also for how it ends….

P9050011

God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God. (2 Corinthians 5:21 NIV)

