Be Frank with God

by kingteamdad

For You, Lord, have delivered me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling, that I may walk before the Lord, in the land of the living. I trusted in the Lord when I said, “I am greatly afflicted”;  (Psalm 116:8-10)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When Evan was no taller then my waist, we invested in a small start up company with great promise. It was only a matter of time, with their products and management team, until great success was recognized. Things started off well, but, within a year, it started to fizzle. A couple of years went by and the chances of recouping our investment melted away. Pretty soon that company got to be a joke with us. Whenever something came up that we thought might not be a good idea, it got lumped into the same category as this other company.

We tried to learn from that experience. We realized that the management team for a company can change, and that in turn can change the direction, personality, and very soul of an organization. It can be very disturbing when that happens to a company to which you invested money!

Last year I had even mentioned to Kris my regret that I had not gotten an individual certificate for each share of stock. I told her that I could have at least used it to wallpaper my office. We both prayed about it and thought we were doing things inside God’s will. But six years later we had resigned ourselves to the fact that sometimes we seek His wisdom and will, and don’t like the end result. We still trusted God, but did let Him know the despair we felt (as if He didn’t already know!).

Numerous times I questioned God about it. I was upset because that money could have gone somewhere else, instead of being “thrown away” on a pipe dream. Most of the time my complaints were met with simple silence. I know God doesn’t HAVE to answer or respond to our prayers, but it would have been nice.

I had to remind myself that He is the Creator, we are the created. He doesn’t have to answer if He doesn’t want to. We need to trust Him, even when we can’t see Him, hear Him, or feel Him…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Epilogue: Seven years and 4 months later we got an interesting phone call informing us the company was being bought by a competitor. Even through all the silence…God provided for us.

