Feeling is Not Worship

by kingteamdad

I go east, but He is not there. I go west, but I cannot find Him. I do not see Him in the north, for He is hidden. I turn to the south, but I cannot find Him. But He knows where I am going. And when He has tested me like gold in a fire, He will pronounce me innocent.” (Job 23:8-10 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – It was a scary thing when Connor started driving. I realized I was one of the examples he had and started playing back in my mind my good habits, and my not so good habits. Do I really blow my horn that much? Do I really drive that fast up our street?

It didn’t take long to figure out Connor did better with Kris teaching him, then he did with me. In many ways we were too much alike, and inevitably butt heads. So sweet Kris with the patience of a mom, would go out with him, which is good because she actually takes time to enjoy driving. I feel like God is watching me with a stopwatch seeing how quickly and efficiently I can get there!

I still remember the first time Connor took a solo drive. He pulled out of the garage, (from my perspective) barely missing the garage door. Down the driveway he drove headed to a rehearsal at church. Upon his return several hours later, we asked him how his maiden voyage went. His reply seemed pretty accurate, in fact we were certain of it. Doing our best FBI agent imitation, we “tailed” him from a safe distance the 8 miles to church, wanting to see how he would do when we weren’t with him.

Connor thought he was driving out of our sight. He thought he was all alone driving down that busy road to First Redeemer. He would later tell us it was a little unnerving crossing through highway 9 and Georgia 400.

What he didn’t know was that we saw the whole thing. We were feverishly praying for his protection. We had the angels busy watching over him and placing a hedge of protection around him as he drove. We sighed with relief as he safely parked the car in the busy parking lot. We sat there proud of the job he had completed.

I think we often look at our life as Connor did his driving experience. We think God is NOT watching, or think He is not interested. He won’t care. It doesn’t matter to Him, does it?

When in reality, not only is He watching us, but His Holy Spirit is intervening on our behalf, lifting up to Him needs we don’t even know we have!

Maybe I should drive with a little more patience today.  Drive a little slower, with a smile and a nod as I go. Never know WHO might be watching….

IMG_0798

Truly, You are a God who hides Himself, O God of Israel, the Savior. (Isaiah 45:15 ESV)

